What are the 8 steps in evaluating a casualty?

The 8 steps in evaluating a casualty is an aide-memoir taught in battlefield / combat first aid by army medical services around the world. It is designed to prioritise life-saving assessments first (e.g: airway / breathing) before moving onto other components such as bleeding and burns.

The 8 steps to evaluate a casualty

1) Responsiveness – are they conscious? unconscious?
2) Breathing
3) Pulse
4) Bleeding
5) Shock
6) Fractures
7) Burns
8) Concussions / head injuries

You can find out how to treat some of these injuries by completing our online first aid training course.

You may also like...

First aid links

Leave a Reply